Big Ten Football Stadiums

Find pictures, seating charts, maps, and history of Big Ten Conference Football Stadiums that are used for Big Ten Football games. The following stadiums are the home stadiums for Illinois Football, Indiana Football, Iowa Football, Michigan Football, Michigan State Football, Minnesota Football, Northwestern Football, Ohio State Football, Penn State Football, Purdue Football, and Wisconsin Football teams.

Home of the Illinois Fighting Illini | Champaign, Illinois

Home of the Indiana Hoosiers | Bloomington, Indiana

Home of the Iowa Hawkeyes | Iowa City, Iowa

Home of the Michigan Wolverines | Ann Arbor, Michigan

Home of the Michigan State Spartans | East Lansing, Michigan

Home of the Minnesota Golden Gophers | Minneapolis, Minnesota

Home of the Northwestern Wildcats | Evanston, Illinois

Home of the Ohio State Buckeyes | Columbus, Ohio

Home of the Penn State Nittany Lions | State College, Pennsylvania

Home of the Purdue Boilermakers | West Lafayette, Indiana

Home of the Wisconsin Badgers | Madison, Wisconsin

Little Known Facts about Big Ten Football Stadiums

– Beaver Stadium has a capacity of 107,282 and is the largest football stadium in the United States.

– The Wisconsin football stadium received its name because it lies on the grounds of Camp Randall, a former Union Army training camp during the American Civil War.

– Kinnick Stadium was constructed in only 7 months between 1928 and 1929. Animals that died during the construction were buried under what now is the North end zone.

– In 2005, head football coach Terry Hoeppner had a limestone boulder found under the practice field nicknamed “The Rock” installed in the north end zone as a new campus tradition.

– The football playing surface of Illinois’ Memorial Stadium is named Zuppke Field, in honor of Robert Zuppke, the University of Illinois head football coach from 1913 to 1941.

– Michigan Stadium is nicknamed the Big House, the Carnegie Hall of all Sports, and the House that Yost built. It was built in 1927, at a cost of $950,000 and had an original capacity of 72,000.

– Ohio Stadium does not have lights for night games. Special temporary lighting equipment must be brought in for such occasions.

– The University of Minnesota’s open-air, horseshoe-shaped TCF Bank Stadium will open in 2009 at a cost of just under $300 million.

– Since 2001, Ross Ade Stadium has undergone $70 million in renovations, including a $1.7 million video board, that has made it a very attractive and fan-friendly facility.

– The Spartan Walk happens on the morning of each home game, the team completes a walk from their hotel at the Kellogg Center, crosses the Red Cedar River, and into Spartan Stadium. The sidewalks are lined evrywhere with cheering fans.

– Dyche Stadium, now Ryan Field, opened in 1926 at a cost of $1.4 million and originally held 37,000 fans.